Executive Commitee
Current Members

PRESIDENT: ​Jan De Houwer (UGent)

Research Topics: Learning, social cognition, cognition & emotion, cognitive psychology, experimental psychopathology

Personal website

PAST PRESIDENT: Olivier Luminet (UCLouvain)

Specific Tasks: Societal impact, EFPA liason

Research Topics: Emotion, Personality, Health, Memory 

Personal website

SECRETARY: Gilles Vannuscorps (UCLouvain)

Research Topics: Cognitive neuropsychology, Cognitive neuroscience, Vision (biological movement, actions), Language

Personal Website

TREASURER: Dinska Van Gucht (Thomas More / KU Leuven)

Research Topics: Health-related behaviors (e.g., smoking, chocolate craving) & conditioning, Prevention of relapse, Tobacco Harm Reduction (e.g., vaping)

Personal website

Communication Officer: Tim Vantilborgh (VUB)

Research Topics: Organizational Behavior, Industrial-Organizational Psychology, Research Methods, Psychological contracts, Social exchange theory, Temporal  dynamics, Volunteering, Personality

Personal website


Research Topics: Experimental psychology, neuropsychology, functional neuroimaging, developmental psychology, Language, memory

Personal website

ADVISOR: Mandy Rossignol (UMons)

Research Topics: Psychopathology and mental health in youths, Cognitive biases in anxiety disorders, Interoceptive awareness and self-evaluative biases in anxiety

Personal website

ADVISOR: Vera Hoorens (KU Leuven)

Research Topics: Stereotypes, Person perception, Verbal communication, Cognitive and motivational biases in social comparison (e.g., as these affect health and career decisions)

Personal website

ADVISOR: Axelle Calcus (ULB)

Research Topics: Auditory cognitive neuroscience, Neurophysiology, Development, Reading acquisition, Hearing impairment


Personal website


ADVISOR: Lien Goosens (UGent)

Research Topics: Developmental Psychopathology; Intra- and interpersonal processes of eating related pathology

Personal Website

ADVISOR: Ilse Van Diest (KU Leuven)

Research Topics: interoceptive learning, tVNS, respiration, psychophysiology, stress & health

Personal website

Past Presidents
  • 2017-2020: Olivier Luminet (UCL)

  • 2014-17 Johan Wagemans (KUL)

  • 2011-14 Steve Majerus (ULg)

  • 2008-11 Marc Brysbaert (UGent)

  • 2005-08 Axel Cleeremans (ULB)

  • 2003-05 André Vandierendonck (UGent)

  • 1999-2003 Frank Van Overwalle (VUB)

  • 1996-99 Bernard Rimé (UCL)

  • 1994-96 Gery d'Ydewalle (KUL)

  • 1990-93 De Keyser (ULG)

  • 1987-90 Leni Verhofstadt (UGent)

  • 1984-87 Paul Bertelson (ULB)

  • 1981-84 Janssen (KUL)

  • 1979-81 Jean Costermans (UCL)

  • 1978-79 Osterrieth (ULB)

  • 1975-77 De Coster (UGent)

  • 1972-74 De Waele (VUB)